Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Arkansas Compliance and Regulatory Resources

State legislative changes rank among the top information sought by employers from their HR professionals. Paychex aims to ease your state level compliance burdens with Arkansas business compliance resources. Discover requirements your business might need to comply with such as tax rates and limits, workers’ compensation, and more

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*

3.9%

2024 AR Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit

$7,000

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers

0.2% to 10.1% (effective July 1, 2024) - rates include surcharges

State Unemployment New Employer Rate

2.0% (effective July 1, 2024) - rates include surcharges

State Hourly Minimum Wage

$11.00 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state. Refer to state laws.)

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees

$2.63 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state.)

AR wage and hour information


State Tax ID Registration

Withholding Registration

  • Registration instructions for Arkansas state withholding
    • Registration may take 2 to 4 weeks to process with the format of XXXXXXXX-WHW (8 digits and WHW).
    • Email your registration confirmation to your Paychex Service Professional.

State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Registration

  • Registration instructions for Arkansas SUI
    • Immediate registration provided on the Registration confirmation page with format of XXXXXXXXX (9 digits).
    • Email your registration confirmation to your Paychex Service Professional.

Entering your account numbers in Paychex Flex: Enter your new account number in your Paychex Flex® account to ensure that your Paychex account is updated and email your registration confirmation document to your Paychex Service Professional.


Workplace Safety

OSHA

Arkansas is a federal OSHA state jurisdiction which covers most private-sector workers within the state. State and local government workers are not covered by federal OSHA. Additional information available.


Workers' Compensation

  • Coverage is mandatory for employers with three (3) or more employees
  • Officers are included in the employee count, even if they are excluding coverage
  • Construction – coverage is needed with employee No. 2
  • All employments in which one or more employee(s) is employed by a sub-contractor or a contractor that uses a sub-contractor for any part of their work

Compliance Insights