Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Georgia Compliance and Regulatory Resources

Georgia employment compliance is difficult to keep up with, but we share business regulation updates. Dive into the requirements your business may need to comply with concerning Georgia tax rates and limits, workplace safety, and more. 

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*

5.39%

2024 GA Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit

$9,500

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers

0.06% to 8.10% (includes a 0.06% surcharge)

State Unemployment New Employer Rate

2.64%

State Hourly Minimum Wage

$5.15 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state. Refer to state laws.)

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees

$2.13 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state. Refer to state laws.)

GA wage and hour information


E-Verify

Businesses employing more than 10 full-time employees or any business regardless of employee count that holds a public contract must enroll in the federal work authorization program unless they do not plan to hire any employees.

  • Penalties: Employers could face criminal or civil action from the state attorney general to ensure compliance. If found to have committed a good faith violation, employers would have 30 days to address the issue and come into compliance.

Note to employers: Employers have requirements once enrolled in E-Verify, including but not limited to completion of Form I-9 and its verification (the Three Day Rule). Noncompliance could lead to significant civil fines. Some local municipalities also have E-Verify requirements.


State Tax ID Registration

Withholding Registration

Registration instructions for Georgia state withholding.

  • You will receive your ID within 15 minutes of completing registration with a format of XXXXXXX-AA (7 digits and two letters).
  • Complete the Georgia DOR Power of Attorney (POA) form. Email the POA and the registration confirmation to your Paychex Service Professional.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Registration

Registration instructions for Georgia SUI.

  • Immediate registration with a format of XXXXXX-XX (8 digits).
  • Complete the Georgia SUI Power of Attorney (POA) form.
  • Email the POA and the registration confirmation to your Paychex Service Professional.

Entering your account numbers in Paychex Flex: Enter your new account number in your Paychex Flex® account to ensure that your Paychex account is updated and email your registration confirmation document to your Paychex Service Professional.


Workplace Safety

OSHA

Georgia is a federal OSHA state but does have required safety training on topics pertinent to specific jobs and workplaces. Additional contact information available.


Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with three (3) or more employees. Officers and members are considered in the employee count even though they may be excluded.


Regulatory and Legislative Compliance Podcast

Income tax changes and a proposed legislative/regulatory rollback to help small businesses. Director of Compliance Mike Trabold provides insights on what to expect in 2024.

Georgia Compliance Wistia Cover

Compliance Insights