Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Michigan Compliance and Regulatory Resources

Business owners spend about 74 hours each year maintaining regulatory compliance.1 Paychex strives to simplify understanding compliance requirements in Michigan by providing resources for businesses. Dive into state resources your business may use to help you comply with the ever-changing regulations in Michigan, including workplace safety, minimum wage, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*


2024 MI Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit


State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers

0.06% to 10/3%

State Unemployment New Employer Rate

2.7% New Employer; 6.3% New Construction

State Hourly Minimum Wage


State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees

$3.93 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state. Refer to state laws.)

MI wage and hour information

Workplace Safety


Michigan operates an OSHA-approved state plan covering most private-sector workers and all state and local government workers.

Workers' Compensation

Employers are required to have coverage for three (3) or more employees at one time (including part-time employees) or one (1) or more full-time employees 35 hours of more per week for at least 13 weeks in the preceding 52 weeks.

Compliance Insights