Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Mississippi Compliance and Regulatory Resources

50 percent of business owners say maintaining regulatory compliance is extremely or very challenging.1 Paychex strives to make it simple for Mississippi businesses. Explore requirements you may need to meet regarding tax rates and limits, workers’ compensation, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*

N/A

2024 MS Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit

$14,000

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers

0.20% to 5.60% (a 0.20% surcharge included)

State Unemployment New Employer Rate

1.2% (Rates include surcharges)

State Hourly Minimum Wage

N/A

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees

N/A


E-Verify

All employers, defined as any person or business that issues W-2s and 1099s to report income paid to employed or contracted personnel in the state, must enroll in and use E-Verify.

  • Penalties: Could include suspension of license for up to a year.

Note to employers: Employers have requirements once enrolled in E-Verify, including but not limited to completion of Form I-9 and its verification (the Three Day Rule). Noncompliance could lead to significant civil fines. Some local municipalities also have E-Verify requirements.


Workplace Safety

OSHA

Mississippi is under federal OSHA jurisdiction that covers most private-sector workers within the state. State and local government workers are not covered by federal OSHA. Additional information for Mississippi is available.


Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with five (5) or more employees


Compliance Insights