Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Wisconsin Compliance and Regulatory Resources

Compliance regulations are listed as one of the top struggles for business owners1, but Paychex aims to simplify HR compliance for businesses in Wisconsin. Explore requirements your business may need to comply with, including minimum wage, workers’ comp, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*
N/A
2024 WV Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit
$9,521

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers
1.5% to 8.5%

State Unemployment New Employer Rate
New Employer 3.05% to 3.25%; Construction 2.90% to 3.10%

State Hourly Minimum Wage
$7.25 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state. Refer to state laws.)

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
$2.33 (Special rules apply to minimum wage standards for this state. Refer to state laws.)
WI wage and hour information


Workplace Safety

OSHA
Wisconsin is under federal OSHA jurisdiction that covers most private-sector workers within the state. State and local government workers are not covered by federal OSHA. Additional information available


Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with three (3) or more employees or one (1) or more employees to whom you have paid combined gross wages of $500 or more in any calendar year


Compliance Insights