[Infographic] California Paid Sick Leave
If you're a California employer, you'll want to take notice of the new paid sick leave law that goes into effect this summer. Starting July 1, 2015, an employee who works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment is entitled to paid sick leave.
Employers can cap the sick leave at three days (24 hours) per year, but they must allow employees to roll over any unused days to the following year. This allows for a total accrual of sick days to at least six days (48 hours).
Employers will also have to display a paid sick leave poster and either report accrued sick days on employees' pay stubs or on a document issued the same day as the paycheck.
For more details about this new Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act of 2014, see our infographic.