Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

South Carolina Compliance and Regulatory Resources

Business owners spend roughly 74 hours annually maintaining regulatory compliance.1 Paychex strives to ease some of that burden by providing compliance resources for businesses in South Carolina. Dive into state requirements your business may need to comply with, including minimum wage, workplace safety, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*

2024 SC Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit


State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers

0.06% to 5.46%

State Unemployment New Employer Rate


State Hourly Minimum Wage


State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees



All private employers must enroll in and use E-Verify to verify all new hires.

  • Penalties: Business license could be suspended with first offense. There is a three-strikes-and-out policy, after which a business license could be revoked.

Note to employers: Employers have requirements once enrolled in E-Verify, including but not limited to completion of Form I-9 and its verification (the Three Day Rule). Noncompliance could lead to significant civil fines. Some local municipalities also have E-Verify requirements.

State Tax ID Registration

Withholding Registration

Registration instructions for South Carolina state withholding.

  • Registration application may take up to 5 days to process. You’ll receive an email with the ID with the format of XXXXXXXXX (9 digits).
  • Email your registration confirmation to your Paychex Service Professional.

State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Registration

Registration instructions for South Carolina SUI.

  • Immediate registration provided on the Confirmation page with format of XXXXXXXX (8 digits).
  • Email your registration summary to your Paychex Service Professional.

Entering your account numbers in Paychex Flex: Enter your new account number in your Paychex Flex® account to ensure that your Paychex account is updated and email your registration confirmation document to your Paychex Service Professional.

Workplace Safety


South Carolina operates an Federal OSHA covers most workers not covered under the state plan.

Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with four (4) or more employees

Compliance Insights