Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Utah Compliance and Regulatory Resources

50 percent of business owners say maintaining regulatory compliance is extremely or very challenging1. Paychex strives to make it simple for Utah businesses by providing resources needed to help navigate the complex regulatory and legislative landscape of compliance. Explore requirements you may need to meet including minimum wage, workers’ compensation, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*
N/A
2024 UT Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit
$47,000

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers
0.3% to 7.3%

State Unemployment New Employer Rate
1.4% to 6.5% (7.3% for new out-of-state contractors)

State Hourly Minimum Wage
$7.25 (federal rate)

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
$2.13
UT wage and hour information


E-Verify

Private employers with 150 or more workers are required to enroll in and use E-Verify or another status verification system.

  • Penalties: Fines could be assessed for first and second violations on employers who knowingly employ unauthorized aliens. Subsequent violations might be met with revocation of certain state licenses, while fines could be assessed if such licenses are not held.

Note to employers: Employers have requirements once enrolled in E-Verify, including but not limited to completion of Form I-9 and its verification (the Three Day Rule). Noncompliance could lead to significant civil fines. Some local municipalities also have E-Verify requirements.


Workplace Safety

UOSH
Utah operates an OSHA-approve state plan covering most private-sector workers and all state and local government workers within the state. Federal OSHA covers most workers not covered under the state plan.


Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with any employees


Compliance Insights