Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Rhode Island Compliance and Regulatory Resources

Compliance regulations are listed as one of the top struggles for business owners,1 but Paychex helps to simplify HR compliance for businesses in Rhode Island. Discover requirements your business may need to comply with, including minimum wage, pay transparency, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*

5.99%
2024 RI Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit

$29,200 except those paying highest tax rate whose wage base will be $30,700

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers

1.10% to 9.70%

State Unemployment New Employer Rate

0.97%

State Hourly Minimum Wage

$14

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees

$3.89
RI wage and hour information


Pay Transparency

In effect since Jan. 1, 2023, employers with at least one employee in state are required to comply with the Rhode Island pay transparency law.

  • Wage ranges must be given to an applicant for a position they applied to, upon request, and prior to discussing compensation.
  • Wage range must be provided to employees when they are hired, and when they move to a different role, change jobs, or upon request.
  • Employers must post a notice about these requirements in a conspicuous spot at the workplace.

Workplace Safety

OSHA

Rhode Island is under federal OSHA jurisdiction that covers most private-sector workers within the state. State and local government workers are not covered by federal OSHA. Additional information is available.


Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with any employees


Compliance Insights