Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stay Up to Date

State regulatory changes sent to your email.

Vermont Compliance and Regulatory Resources

Business owners list compliance with regulations as one of their top struggles. Paychex strives to simplify HR compliance by offering resources for businesses in Vermont. Dive into the mandates your business may need to adhere to including tax rates and limits, workers’ comp, and more.

Scroll Down

To Discover More

State Tax Rates and Limits

State Supplemental Withholding Rate*
30% of Federal Withholding for non-periodic payments. Use the withholding tables for periodic supplemental wages.
2024 VT Withholding Tables

State Unemployment Taxable Wage Base Limit
$14,300

State Unemployment Rate Range for Employers
0.4% to 5.4% (Employers with 5 or more employees pay $213.47 per employee per quarter for the Health Care Contribution Premium)

State Unemployment New Employer Rate
1.0% to 4.7%

State Hourly Minimum Wage
$13.67

State Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
$6.84
VT wage and hour information


Pay Transparency

Effective July 1, 2025, the Vermont pay transparency law requires employers with five or more employees.

  • Employers are required to disclose minimum and maximum salary range or hourly wage on internal and external postings for job openings in Vermont or remote roles where work is conducted for offices physically located within the state (includes positions that a current employee could be promoted or transferred to).
    • Exceptions apply for commission-based jobs. Employers must disclose the position is paid either in whole or in part on a commission basis.
    • Exceptions for positions paid on a tipped basis must disclose that the position is a tipped position and include the hourly base wage or range for the hourly base wage.

Workplace Safety

VOSHA
Vermont has an OSHA-approved state plan that covers most private-sector workers and all state and local government workers within the state. Federal OSHA covers most workers not covered under the state plan.


Workers' Compensation

Coverage is mandatory for employers with any employees


Compliance Insights