Pay 0% for Credit Card Payments

To help you take advantage of new rules permitting businesses to add a fee for the use of credit cards, Paychex offers Zero-Cost Credit, a patent-pending solution from our partner CardX.

How It Works

Before the transaction is processed, Zero-Cost Credit determines whether the card being swiped or entered is a credit card or a debit card (businesses are not permitted to add a fee to debit cards), and automatically applies a fee whenever a credit card is used so that you receive 100 percent of the sale.

Increase Fairness

Under the old rules businesses were not permitted to charge a fee for using a credit card, even though accepting credit cards costs more than accepting debit cards or cash. So, they passed on the cost to all customers. This resulted in the average credit card user receiving an annual subsidy of $1,133 from customers who chose debit or cash.1

1 Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, "Who Gains and Who Loses from Credit Card Payments?" Public Policy Discussion Paper No. 10-03, 2010.

Get Help Staying Compliant

The rules for surcharging are complex. As a result, many products offering 0% merchant costs fall short of compliance — leaving businesses open to potential fines and penalties. CardX helps businesses using Zero-Cost Credit remain compliant with applicable regulations, including those mandating that:

  • Businesses must not apply a fee to debit cards.
  • Receipts must show the amount of the credit card fee as a separate line item.
  • The credit card fee and the price of the product must be processed together as one transaction.

Businesses Can Use Zero-Cost Credit In:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

(Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, New York, Oklahoma, and Texas have passed legislation that prohibits surcharging.)